Unfortunately, you cannot send any messages with the free version. Opt for the premium version, and you send numerous texts to numerous matches.
It takes about 2-3 minutes. Within that, you have to go to your email and click on the verification link sent to you.
Yes, it is safe, especially with the “Basic Mode” and “Safe Mode”. Only the verified dating accounts are allowed to send messages to you when you select that mode.